Here We Come, Savannah!

Thursday was a whirlwind after I left work. Came straight home, finished packing, waiting on B to get home, dropped Owen off at boarding and we were off to Savannah!

Here was the bag with just our race day gear..

Then our completed packing pile..

 

Foam roller was a 100% MUST.

Don’t forget the snacks for the way down, plus breakfast!

 

It took us a little over 6 hours to get to Savannah and when we got there, we went straight to sleep.

Friday we got up and went over to the expo. I’m glad we went early because later on in the day, the bridge to get to the convention center looked like this..

(Source)

The expo was so much fun. We got Savannah Marathon shirts and souvenirs, got to check out 100+ vendors with all kinds of running gear, and I even ran into my friend Michelle who has been traveling to every Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon for the last half of this year for work! It was nice to catch up and get excited with the other runners.

Didn’t you know I can run in jeans and with a purse half my size?

After the expo we came back to the condo and got ready for our pasta dinner. My sister-in-law picked up fresh, homemade pasta from an Italian place in Charlotte. We all pitched in and had fun talking about the next day and how far we’d come in our training for both half and full marathons.

After a delicious meal, I mapped out my water station and Gu stops for the next day, obviously taking it very seriously.

What’s a great dinner without inspiring dessert?!

After dinner we went through our “swag bags” from the expo and got our racing gear together for the next morning.

We had an early bedtime of 10:00. My alarm would go off at 4:30 the next morning and I would run a marathon, at least I hoped so..

Part 2 is in the works!

One response

  1. Pingback: Rock ‘n’ Roll Savannah Marathon 2011 Race Recap | Will Run for Food

Leave a Reply

